Arizona Mandatory Minimum Coverage May be on the Rise

The minimum mandatory auto insurance required in Arizona has not risen in 47 years. The minimum required is $15,000 per injury, $25,000 per collision, and $10,000 for property damage. Meanwhile, the average cost for an emergency room visit has increased over 31 percent – and that is just since 2012! In short, auto insurance coverage has not kept up with rising costs of medical bills.

Read More

Domestic Violence and Fingerprint Clearance Cards

A domestic violence charge can have devastating consequences if you need a fingerprint clearance card for work. Even before you ever go to trial on your charge, you may receive a notification from the Department of Public Safety (DPS) that they have suspended your clearance card. Simply being accused of a domestic violence offense could cost you your job.

Read More

Is a DUI a Felony in Arizona?

For many people, a DUI charge is their first exposure to the criminal justice system in Arizona. Everyone has heard that having a felony conviction is bad and can cost you your job, professional license, or even your housing. So one of the most frequent questions I get is “Is my DUI charge a felony?” In most circumstances, a first time DUI charge in Arizona is a misdemeanor, not a felony.

Read More

What To Do After a DUI Arrest

A DUI arrest can be scary. Police hand you a stack of papers. They take your driver’s license and replace it with a piece of paper, they give you a court date, they may have towed your car. The next few weeks will be full of things to do related to your arrest. This guide will answer the most common questions we hear from people recently arrested for DUI.

Read More

You can get a DUI in Arizona with a BAC less than 0.08

Starting in 2019, Utah will become the first state in the country to lower the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) “legal limit” to 0.05. Every other state has a BAC legal limit of 0.08. The term legal limit refers to how much alcohol you can have in your blood while driving. However, in Arizona, it is possible to get a DUI even if your BAC is BELOW the legal limit.

Read More

Why “Aggressive” Isn’t Always a Good Trait in a Lawyer

We’ve all seen and heard the ads for lawyers- they can be seen on buses, billboards, and heard on radio and television commercials. “Get an AGGRESSIVE lawyer!” “We don’t back down!” “We will FIGHT for you!” Clients seem to think they need an aggressive lawyer, and some lawyers think advertising themselves as aggressive (whether or not they are) will bring in more clients. But is aggression really good?

Read More

What is unsupervised probation?

Defendants who are convicted of, or take pleas to, misdemeanor offenses are often placed on unsupervised probation. Most people have some idea of what probation entails, but few know what unsupervised probation is. Unsupervised probation comes with some conditions, and it is important to understand those before accepting a plea that will place you on probation.

Read More